Invited Speakers

Massimo Sartelli

Massimo Sartelli
The University of Macerata, Italy
C V  
Massimo Sartelli MD.
The University of Macerata Italy

He is consultant surgeon at Department of General and Emergency Surgery, Macerata Hospital, Area Vasta 3, ZT n°9 (Italy) - Coordinator of Scientific Activities - Member of the Hospital Infection Control Committee.

His scientific activity is documented by publications in international scientific journals. He is author/co-author of seven manuals of emergency surgery. In the last years he has devoted his updating to the study of surgical infections and sepsis.

He coordinated WSES Guidelines for Management of Intra-abdominal Infections, WSES Guidelines for Management of Skin and Soft Tissue Infections and WSES Guidelines for Management of Clostridium difficile Infection in Surgical Patients.

He designed and coordinated three multicenter prospective studies (CIAOW Study, CIAO Study and WISS Study) involving medical institutions worldwide defining epidemiological and management profiles of intra-abdominal infections worldwide.

In 2016 he designed AGORA Project. A global Alliance for Rational and appropriate use of antibiotics in managing intra-abdominal infections with the participation of clinicians from 79 countries worldwide.

He is deputy editor of the "World Journal of Emergency Surgery" and member of the Board of Directors of the "World Society of Emergency Surgery".

He is founder and acting director of the Global Alliance for Infections in Surgery. The Global Alliance for Infections in Surgery is an independent alliance promoted in 2016 by the World Society of Emergency Surgery (WSES), for a cohesive and global approach to promoting research and education in the field of infections in surgery. Experts from 86 countries worldwide joined the International Advisory Board of the Global Alliance for Infections in Surgery (

Victoria M. Steelman
The University of Iowa, USA
C V  
Victoria M. Steelman
Associate Professor, College of Nursing,
University of Iowa, USA

PhD in Nursing, The University of Iowa MA in Nursing, The University of Iowa BSN, The University of Iowa

Research Focus/Clinical Interests:
· Perioperative patient safety
· Evidence-based practice

Victoria M. Steelman, PhD, RN, CNOR, FAAN, has been a perioperative nurse for over 25 years.
She has focused her career on implementing evidence-based practice changes to promote quality and safety of patient care.
As Associate Professor in the College of Nursing at the University of Iowa, she teaches evidence-based practice and conducts research on perioperative patient safety and implementation science. She has received two Outstanding Achievement awards from AORN(the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses‘) as well as the AORN Award for Excellence in recognition of her many contributions to perioperative nursing.
In 2007, she was inducted into the American Academy of Nursing in recognition of the national and global impact of her work.
She was the 2014-15 President of AORN.

Chinhak Chun MD
Metro West Medical Center, USA
Mediplex Sejong Hospital, Korea
C V  
Chinhak Chun MD
Metro West Medical Center, Framingham and Natick, MA, USA
Infectious disease center/ Mediplex Sejong Hospital, Incheon, Korea

Dr. Chinhak Chun is an infectious disease specialist in Natick, Massachusetts and is affiliated with MetroWest Medical Center. He received his medical degree from Yonsei University College of Medicine and has been in practice for more than 20 years. He is one of 2 doctors at MetroWest Medical Center who specialize in Infectious Disease.

Chief of Infectious Disease, Metro West Medical Center, Framingham and Natick, MA, USA
Vice Chairman, Department of Medicine, Metro West Medical Center, Framingham/Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Physician Champion, MeteroWest Medical Center, C. difficile Prevention Consortium, Massachusetts, USA

Massachusetts License Registration #56712
American Board of Internal Medicine
American Board of Infectious Disease

 2009 – present  Joint Commission International Consultant, Chicago, Illinois, US

- 1983 ~ 1984 Outstanding Faculty of the Year Teaching Award voted by Medicine House Staff,
University of Louisville, Kentucky, USA
- 2008 Recognition for dedication as Chief of Medicine, Department of Medicine, Leonard
Morse Hospital, MetroWest Medical Center, Natick, Massachusetts, USA
- 2010 Physician of the Year (2010) awarded by the Mass Medical Society Middlesex